Experimentation

I’ve been experimenting a little today – trying to find the perfect way to cut a heart that’s not too big, not too small, not to high, low or cockeyed.  I’ve almost given up a dozen times, but after a little break I keep finding myself back at the drawing board with a new/better idea.

That seems to be one of the things that sets this new life of mine apart from the old one.  I fear I’d reached a point in my career where any obstacle was enough to make me give up and declare the task impossible.  Now I’m finding myself pushing through, considering alternatives, following my heart – cockeyed or otherwise.

It makes me think of a quote I love…

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all of time, this expression is unique… It is not your business to determine how good it is nor how valuable nor how it compares with other expressions. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open…”

~Martha Graham

It’s so easy to close the channel when things aren’t going quite as well as hoped for.  I’m learning to experiment with keeping the channels open – in spite of setbacks and discouragement.  I think that’s one of the keys to moving forward.  I’m hoping the more I do it (regroup, reset, try again) the easier it will get and the more momentum I’ll build.

Updated – here is the finished project…

IMG_0502

Leave a Reply

