Spring Sprung and Chicken Soup

It’s been a chicken soup kind of week and when I finally emerged from my kleenex-littered cave, spring had sprung!  My neighbor has daffodils blooming and the Bradfords are in bloom all over the place.  I even saw a pink flowering tree yesterday, though I think it was a Pink Dogwood – still a little early for Redbuds.  I’ve been tentatively plotting a garden and it all makes me realize it’s  time to get rolling!  I’d like to do a raised garden – had one once before and loved it so much.  Course, there’s the issue of the mongrels – Buster’s still digging to China, so some sort of fence is requisite.  I’ll also have to balance how much of hubby’s time I want to take away from the bathroom remodel to work on building the boxes and carting in all the soil and stuff…  hmmm, maybe I better just do a few container things ;).

I don’t know about you, but when I have the sniffles, there is nothing that satisfies better than good old chicken soup.  Since everybody in my neck of the woods seems sniffly right now, I thought I’d share my Chicken Soup recipe.  This was adapted from a Rachel Ray recipe, so it’s quick and very easy.  Enjoy!!

Chicken and Dumplings

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs
1 T. olive oil
1 medium potato, washed and diced
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 rib celery, chopped
1 bay leaf
salt and freshly ground black pepper (to taste)
2 t. Chef Paul’s Poultry Magic
2 T. flour
1 quart turkey stock (or chicken if you can’t find turkey)
2 cups biscuit mix (Bisquick)
2/3 cup skim milk

Place a large dutch oven on the stove over medium-high heat.  Add oil, veggies and bay leaf; cook ten to fifteen minutes, stirring frequently.  While veggies are cooking, dice chicken thighs into bite sized pieces and set aside.

Season veggie mixture with salt, pepper and Chef Paul seasoning.  Add flour and cook 2 minutes.  Stir in turkey stock and bring to a boil.  Stir in chicken and simmer while you prepare dumplings, per package directions,  dropping dumplings directly into your stew to cook.

Leave a Reply

