Book Doodad

“I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.”
~Albert Einstein

Since I retired, I’ve become an avid library rat – to the point that I’m a little worried Barnes and Noble won’t be able to weather the economic downturn I’ve created by not buying 3+ books per week.  But, I’m loving me the library – one whole heck of a lot!!

Except, I have this one lazy/whiny little complaint – when I’m trying to read while doing something else with my hands (namely, eating), a real book often won’t lay open properly.  If you’ve ever tried to manage a book and a burger (or pizza!!) simultaneously , you know where I’m coming from.  Over the years, I’ve used all manner of things to hold my books open – table knifes, small hammers, cell phones… yes, I’ve used my fancy technology as a book weight more times than I care to admit.

I got to thinking I might be able to craft something that would function better and possibly look a little less pitiful – you can see some of my prototypes in the photo.  Now that I’m relatively content with a design, I’ll test it tomorrow at lunch.  If all goes well, I’m hoping to have some in the shop by end of week.

One Comment on “Book Doodad

  1. Can’t wait to see, this is a real problem for me too! Thank you in advance for fixing the problem 🙂

Leave a Reply

