Steal Like An Artist

I’m a seeker – someone who is always on the search for answers and solutions; particularly those that might give me a clue as to what I’m “meant to do” with my one wild and precious life.  Up until just a few years ago, I had spent an inordinate amount of time trying to fix all the things I thought were wrong with me.  Then one day, I woke up and wondered, “what if there’s nothing wrong with me – what if how I am is exactly how I was meant to be?”  It creates an interesting platform to launch from… maybe being an introvert is a gift vs. a flaw; maybe working for the same company for 30 years was a learning experience vs. a waste of time; maybe the bad choices I’ve made in my life led me to learning opportunities I wouldn’t have otherwise found.

I went to the bookstore yesterday to look for a book I’d heard about – didn’t find it, but I did stumble upon something else… something sort of terrific and simple and transformational (in a self-discovery sort of way)…

“You are a mashup of everything you let into your life.”  And if I take that a step further, you would not be the unique individual you are today without each and every one of the things you let into your life.  This book is about creativity – about being curious and understanding what moves you as a way of developing your own unique voice.  I also think it’s inadvertently about learning to love who you already are.  The best part is that it tells that story in less than 150 pages, with illustrations to make sure you get the point – I read most of it during commercials last night and am going back today to review all the dog-ears I made and start taking action on what I learned.

If ever there was a manual for how to live your best life, this is it.  It’s a book creative people should definitely read and it’s a book every seeker needs to read.

Steal Like An Artist - Promotional Poster

For more information, visit steallikeanartist.com

Leave a Reply

