Restoring the Flow

I’ve been fighting with my sewing machine for the better part of the last year and decided yesterday, instead of throwing the thing out a window, I would go and look at new ones.  I ended up bringing this one home with me and I cannot believe how much better it is – quieter, more stitch patterns, better overall architecture (the bobbin is visible so you can see when it’s getting low – WOW) .  The project I’d been working on all day with the old machine took about 30 minutes to complete on the new one.

It’s odd because I don’t really have a “make do” attitude about most things.  If something doesn’t work the way I think it should, I don’t tend to be shy about replacing it.  I suppose I might’ve been harboring a different cultural norm when it came to my sewing machine.  They were made differently when I was growing up and learning to sew – metal, with metal and steel parts inside and they just didn’t wear out – if the machine stopped working, it was usually a matter of cleaning, oiling, or operator malfunction.

Today’s machines are mostly plastic and the instructions for cleaning and oiling are pretty limited.  Maybe they’re trying to support repair shops by discouraging DYI, but when I finally realized I hadn’t paid that much for the old machine (under $100) and I could get a new one on sale for just a little more (possibly less than the cost of repair for the old one and totally worth it for the time and frustration savings it will give me) it was sort of a no-brainer.

It’s amazing to me how one little thing can change my whole perspective.  I’d been completely avoiding projects that involved sewing, which is a problem since most of my artwork sort of revolves around sewing – mainly because my primary tool was not behaving nicely.  Removing that roadblock restored my enthusiasm ten-fold!!

It makes me wonder what other roadblocks I’ve allowed to linger because of some out-dated belief – something I’m definitely going to explore.  What about you – is there something in your life that’s driving you batty or blocking your flow?  Can it be replaced, removed, transformed?

2 Comments on “Restoring the Flow

  1. I really relate to this Kelly, but I know I hold onto things, maybe not so much for sentimental reasons, but for economic reasons and maybe because of the guilt attached to buying something new! Guilt is something I constantly struggle with! Guilt that I shouldn’t be blogging, crafting, taking time off sick (as I am today!!), and that ought to be creating wonderful dinners, keeping a tidy house, and growing veg!! (this is all my own “stuff” and nothing to do with my family who positively encourage me to embrace my creativity in blogging and crafting!!!) I did without a dishwasher for years as I felt “guilty” to get one, I kept my old banger car for years after it had long lost the will to keep driving! I can’t imagine now how I managed to get from A to B and I can’t believe I used to spend so long washing up just because I refused to get a DW!!! Life is too short for washing UP!!!
    Get rid of “shoulds” “woulds” “oughts” and “coulds”! they are “weapon” words and only hold us back!!!!

Leave a Reply

