The Path Home

20120524-084242.jpg

As much as I love traveling, I’m always thankful when the time comes to go home. After spending Monday night in Dubuque, I headed for Columbia MO, where I stayed in another gorgeous boutique hotel called The Tiger Hotel. Left for home early Tuesday morning and pulled in the driveway around 3:00pm.

I wish I had artwork to share with you, but it didn’t really end up being a “bring a finished piece home” kind of trip. I did bring ideas home… like a renewed desire to practice yoga and learn to draw portraits. I’m also making another attempt to go gluten-free, based on the encouragement of women I met in the workshop.

Other, less tangible ideas, I brought home with me… study more about the Native American traditions Katie shared with us, analyze art I admire and adapt the elements I like for my own artwork, dedicate a journal to portraits and work toward a portrait-a-day practice, think about what my personal symbols might be, and look for a place to take workshops closer to home.

I’m also thinking it might be time to focus a little less on learning new techniques from amazing teachers and more on pulling together all I’ve learned into something that represents me, time to really figure out who I am creatively. I’m just feeling this need to stop following the path others have laid and begin forging a path that is uniquely my own.

“Our journey as human beings is not about following a pre-ordained path, but about creating that path. Life rarely makes any more sense when things are done ‘in order’. Life makes sense when we are centered in our own hearts and we Let Go of resisting how our unique journey needs to unfold in its own beautiful unruly way.” ~Unknown

4 Comments on “The Path Home

  1. Welcome home!!! So glad to hear you’re safe! Thank you for sharing some of the things you learned as always. Blair and I both have been working towards a gluten free lifestyle so I would be interested in what the girls shared in your class. There are so many more food options now than there were just a couple of years ago! Whole Foods has lots to offer!
    Loved your thoughts on taking what you’ve learned and coming up with “who YOU are” creatively.
    Again, glad you are home! Big hugs!

    • Glad your home also! Funny I have been thinking about doing “my” thing.Teachers are great, however we as teachers, teach or students the foundations,they need to apply it as they see fit into their lives. I have been listening to experts on Gluten free eating, what I have been able to find is this……. go easy, do NOT drop all wheat items, only if you have a medical reason to go Gluten free should you drop all Gluten. Remember God made all foods for our bodies, we just need to not eat like it was our last meal. 🙂 Our bodies need Wheat or Flour( what ever) to balance out the body.
      Hope to see you,and Debra this Summer

      • Thanks Johnnie. I definitely agree with using moderation with dietary trends like this, but am reading and hearing things that strongly suggest gluten could be at the root of a health issue I have. My doc is actually running a celiac screening on me, so hope to know for sure or at least have her support and advice going forward.

    • Thanks Debra – we’ll definitely have to compare gluten notes. I’m amazed at some of the things that have it that I never would have expected! Also amazed at all the replacement options.

Leave a Reply

