Things I’m learning from my cats…

Tucker and Cleo playing pawsies under the art room door.

  • Change is just plain scary…
    especially when new housemates are involved.
  • We all need our own space…
    and food…
    and toys…
    and other stuff…
    to feel at home.
  • Play is the great equalizer.

I apologize for being so cat-crazed over here lately.  I honestly had no idea how hard it would be to bring another cat into our existing two-cat household!  Part of me is seriously questioning my sanity right about now.  We were all a big, relatively happy family – why go mess it up with a new family member?!  But Cleo was in need and I’m not trusting enough to leave her care to someone else.

Hubby and I went to see MIB3 tonight and, when we came home, I had the bright idea to switch spaces… let the big kitties roam Cleo’s room and let Cleo roam the wider world of the house.  Cleo sniffed around a little, then roamed right to her crate and hid – the big kitties checked out her scents all over the art room (where she’s been confined) and then roamed off to their neutral corners.  It sounds small as I type it, but with the minimal hissing involved, I think it was really a BIG step forward.

I swear, this has been a bigger adventure in many ways than driving all the way to Wisconsin for an art class with teachers I’m in awe of!  But I’m starting to believe there’s a lesson in it… patience, understanding, compromise, forgiveness.  All lessons I need to learn.

2 Comments on “Things I’m learning from my cats…

  1. I’m quite enjoying the Kitten Chronicles! She’s a little beauty! Amazing how our fur-babes rule the home! 😀 😀 😀 They are great teachers. I’m enjoying your art work, too! 😀 😀

    • You are right about that Snap – the kitties are completely in charge around here. Hugs to you!!

Leave a Reply

