Fair Weather

Finally slipped off to the state fair today!!

Mostly it was to check out the Creative Arts exhibits and see how my entries did, but we were really excited to find the midway so empty and quiet.

My memories of the fair are sort of bleached and tea-stained, like a 1974 filter – guess it’s been longer than I thought since I’ve been to the fair!!

Was it always this colorful?!

Lots of amazing, creative entries – of the four pieces I entered, one is unknown (nowhere to be found – maybe it didn’t place?), one took 9th place, two took first place and one of those two got…. a Best of Show!!!

I rounded the corner and saw that big purple ribbon and I think my heart skipped a beat or two.  It’s been a loooooong time since I felt anything like the pride that ribbon gives me.  It’s a sort of validation – proof that my work has genuine appeal.  I’m truly over the moon and cannot wait to hang those ribbons prominently in my studio!!!

Leave a Reply

