Gelli Journaling Juice

IMG_2110

Yesterday’s Gelli Journaling class was just a dream, filled with texture and color and discovery and excitement!!  Something magical seems to happen to me when I step in front of a classroom – my insecurities fall away, the volume of my voice increases (a little anyway), my confidence multiplies.  It’s like I’m suddenly new and so full of information I can’t get it to spill out of my mouth fast enough (I may need to learn to temper that last bit ;)).

IMG_2112

There’s a two-way energy that occurs – I get to fill the wells of my students and, if I do my job right, the things I’ve taught will fuel their creativity long after class ends.  In return, I get to reap the rewards of their excitement and creative discovery!

IMG_2113

With yesterday’s class, I felt that creative give and take about a thousand times over!!  The overall kind of magic I’m talking about doesn’t happen unless the classroom is filled with enthusiastic spirits – and this one SURELY was.

IMG_2115-001

Before I go any further, I MUST highlight Chris’s shirt (shown in the photo above) – she Gelli printed it, folks!!  With plain old acrylic paint and she said she washed it without any fading or bleeding.  As someone who has Gelli printed just about anything that hasn’t moved fast enough, I’m almost embarrased to admit I have not tried clothing yet.  But it’s next on my list!  Thank you, Chris, for sharing inspiring us!!

I just had soooo much fun sharing techniques and watching these ladies take off running!!  There’s just nothing that fills me up in quite that way.  Here’s a peek of their work (and ladies, if I mis-credited any of these photos, please give me a shout)…

Sue

Sue’s fave – SUCH a pretty color palette and love all those diverse layers peeking through.

IMG_2117

Debra’s cover (the texture and those colors – positively made me swoon!!!)

Glenda

Another beautiful color palette – believe this was Glenda’s.

Eileen

Eileen’s – with a photo added; the leaves in the photo looked almost felted to me, but they were real; collected on a walk near her home in Washington state!

Glenda

Glenda’s cover – I never get tired of seeing that beautiful color and texture against the black background of these little journals. Just beautiful!!

Alice

Alice’s favorite page (and one of mine too – LOVE that color combo and the subtle pattern peeking through)!

Sissy

Sissy’s fave page – highlighting one of my hand-cut stencils; love how that circular pattern at top almost looks like air bubbles.

Linette

Linette’s faves – the one on the left is a Messy Second done with a pale pink paint. LOVE!!!

Chris

Chris’s favorite page – yummy tranquil colors with the Henna Hands stencil (from Julie Balzer)

Debra

A favorite page from Debra – this girl was completely fearless with color! I wanted to grab a Messy Second from her plate every time I walked by!!!

It was just a joyful class all around and I am beyond inspired by the work this group completed!  Their creativity and daring spirit will have me fueled to the top for weeks to come!!  Thank you, ladies, I’m oh-so-grateful for your continued support!!

4 Comments on “Gelli Journaling Juice

  1. this just makes me smile — for so many reasons. i remember when you were talking about retiring …. you’ve come a long way and i’m thrilled for you. many hugs—-

    • Thank you Snap! I agree – a LOT has transpired in the last year. I feel like a different person in a great many ways.

  2. Kelley I’m a little late in sharing with you how VERY much I enjoyed your class! You provided me and Mom both with WONDERFUL experience!! You shared SO many techniques and ideas with us that I find myself VERY inspired to try many of those ideas and more! I felt like the time absolutely flew by!! Thank you for EVERYTHING!! Your instructions during the class were “spot on,” not to fast and not to slow. And the handout you provided……… is the BEST!!!!!! Thank you! Thank you!

    • Thank you, thank you!! It was such a joy to have you and your mom in class. I had a blast and so appreciate your feedback!!!

Leave a Reply

