The Way of the Artist

IMG_3782

At loooong last, I’m finally working my way through The Artist’s Way.  This book has become a staple in the artist community and I’ve had it on my shelf forever, but was somehow resistant to starting.  After our trip in May, my daughter was talking about doing it as a way of connecting her art with her spirituality and I was inspired to give it a try.  We’re now on week 7 and, OH, what a ride it has been!!

IMG_3778sm

I’ve been inspired to explore amazing new (to me) spaces – like The Savage Quilter and the fabulous “Unbound” exhibit at Artspace @ Untitled.   I’ve investigated other ways of creating – like planting a garden and learning to Zentangle.  Most of all, I’m learning to let my art be more about play – and a little less about productivity.  It’s a difficult line to straddle when you’re in the business of selling art.  But, the funny thing is, the art I make from that place of play feels infinitely more real to me than the art I make because I think it might sell.  Certainly not a new idea, but one that isn’t always easy to hold onto.

IMG_0002

Photos included in this post are some I credit to the work I’ve done via The Artist’s Way.

5 Comments on “The Way of the Artist

  1. love these!!! wow. especially the prayer flags. oh, and the house. and of course, the “unbound” work…oh, it’s all wonderful!!
    miss you like crazy, kelleygirl! we’ll have to skype & compare retreats.

  2. I too am a slow starter on The Artists Way. The weeks I’ve tried to keep to it, have been fruitful, but so far 3 days in a row is pretty good for me. Here is a list I have been using for my art dates with my inner art-child. Thanks for sharing the beautiful fabric textures and artworks.

    • Hi Lucy! I have to admit, as soon as we finished the book, I stopped doing my morning pages. I know it was a good thing, but really started to feel too much like a chore and I felt it was becoming forced. I sure would like to get back to artist dates though – you’ve inspired me to plan a few!!

      • I just finished a semester at University, and finally have a few free minutes, and the first thing I did was schedule a mural for a nursery. Does work count as a date? It was sooooo much fun to do it.
        I also had a reading on a blanket barefoot art date with a good book.
        Thanks for joining me in my inconsistent explorations of The Artists Way.

      • Oh yes, work that comes from the heart definitely counts as a date! My daughter and I explored all kinds of things like that and we both learned not to let anybody else’s idea of a date influence what feels right to YOU.

Leave a Reply

