Sacred Words

IMG_3864

In 2007, I went on an incredible trip to Vermont with Women’s Quest.  I was at an all-time peak, health-wise, and was sort of aching to spread my wings both emotionally and physically.  It was a terrifying and exhilarating adventure and it was the first time I was exposed to a group of women who truly seemed to understand and share my ideas around positivity, self care, holistic health and other so-called “new age” ideas.  It was also the first time I thought about how the words and ideas of great thinkers might serve as a guiding light in my life, it’s where the “Wisdom Words” page on this site was born, and it’s at the heart of  my latest project.

IMG_3863

I’ve collected wise words ever since that 2007 trip – scribbled on the backs of receipts, screen-captured from the internet, pinned on Pinterest and lovingly collected from friends who are always ready to share words they think I will like.  It’s all tended to be a bit of a jumble – always a challenge to find the words I’m looking for when I need them.  A few weeks ago, I read about someone (don’t remember who) that was collecting their “sacred words” in a personal journal – a bible of sorts – and I was inspired to create my own.

IMG_3860

One of the things that always strikes me about the quotations that different people are drawn to is how they tend to reveal the path that person is on.  It’s like this quote from Chuck Palahnuik…

“your handwriting. the way you walk. which china pattern you choose. it’s all giving you away. everything you do shows your hand. everything is a self portrait.  everything is a diary.”

IMG_3861

When a quote that move me moves you too, a connection occurs – we realize our paths have intersected in some way.  That’s what happened on that 2007 trip – “She Let Go” on my Wisdom Words page was given to me by the director, Colleen Canon, and it shook me to my core.

IMG_3862

When we connect that way – there’s a transparency that happens.  We see each other in a new light, learn something deeper about one another… that’s why I wanted to play with transparency in this book.  I used glassine bags, inserted two-sided papers, then used washi tape to make a folio; in a few cases, I just used a single bag, folded down the center, so I could vary the pages sizes.

IMG_3868

The book itself is five signatures of three folios each, bound pamphlet style, then I’ve played with the ends of the strings to create the criss-cross pattern on the spine.

IMG_3867

The pages in this post are what I have done so far – MANY more to go yet, but I’m taking it in small steps, building on top of the transparent pages with photos, ephemera and, of course, quotes – mostly hand-written because I want them to sink in and become a part of me and this path I’m on.

One Comment on “Sacred Words

Leave a Reply

