Prayer Flags – Part 4 (A Gypsy Gelli Flag Tutorial)

IMG_3938

Here we are at the last installment of my prayer flag series!

  1. In Part 1, I shared some of the history and lore behind the flags.  As I’ve made my nontraditional, gypsy flags, I’ve loved giving a nod to the Tibetan traditions; be it through color, meaning, or placement.  I plan to hang mine diagonally, between trees and shrubbery in my backyard.
  2. In Part 2, I showed you some examples of both traditional prayer flags and homemade gypsy prayer flags.  The rebellious, anything-goes nature of the gypsy flags really speaks to my artist’s heart!
  3. For Part 3, I was so happy to feature my friend Kate and her prayer flag story. I talked a LOT in today’s video about imperfection and I think Kate’s photos of the faded flags really brings that point home – time is going to make them even more beautiful than you could imagine!  So, let go and just have fun with them!!

And, today, I’m wrapping the whole thing up with a tutorial for how I made the water flag in my gypsy prayer flag set.  Without further ado, here is the video (see supplies list at the bottom of this post).

I hope this series has inspired you to create your own set of gypsy prayer flags.  If you do, I would love to see photos – just come back and comment with a link and I will happily come visit!

Thank you most kindly for tuning in and I leave you with this blessing – it’s the one I used for the flag I gave to Kate and I think it nicely represents the prayer flag ideal…

“May the sun bring you new energy by day,
May the moon softly restore you by night,
May the rain wash away your worries,
May the breeze blow new strength into your being,
May you walk gently through the world and know its beauty all the days of your life.”

Supply List:

  • Gelli Arts Gel Printing Plate
  • paint – I used Liquitex Basics acrylics in yellow, white and various blues
  • soft rubber brayer
  • plastic palette knife
  • 7″ x 9″ piece of heavy white fabric (I used white denim)
  • 3.5″ x 7″ piece of fabric for casing (burlap, cotton print, cotton ticking, whatever strikes your fancy)
  • several sheets of 8.5″ x 11″ or 9″ x 12″ paper (card stock, drawing paper, even plain old computer paper will work for this – just use what you have on hand)
  • stencil film (I like the Wax-O Stencil paper)
  • scissors
  • sewing machine and thread (I just used an off-white thread)
  • circle punch for your sunshine pattern (I used the Marvy 2″ circle)
  • scraps of brightly colored fabrics (check your area for a quilting shop; they typically sell fat quarters, which is a great way to collect lots of different colors!)
  • scraps of lace, ribbon, ric-rac trims

Note:  I’m not affiliated with any of the companies or products I’ve linked above.  I’m just sharing the first link I found for the different products I particularly like to use.

3 Comments on “Prayer Flags – Part 4 (A Gypsy Gelli Flag Tutorial)

  1. Great series!! Your timing is amazing– I’m bringing supplies to make prayer flags for gifting at a music /sustainability festival this coming weekend in Tucson AZ! They will be decorated by participants and hung around the festival then taken home. You’ve given me more ideas than any other site I’ve looked at. Thank you ever so much & YES I will be back with pictures!!

Leave a Reply

